List Of Public Holidays India 2013

Complete list of National, Gazetted and Restricted Holidays in India with Date, also find the meaning of gazetted and restricted holidays.

National Holidays :
The Days when every citizen is entitled a leave/ Holiday by law, and there is very little work or business carried out.( certain exception may apply). There are 3 National Holidays in India
                                 1.    Republic Day          (26th  Jan)
                                 2.    Independence Day (15th  Aug)
                                 3.    Gandhi jayanti       ( 
02nd Oct)

 Gazetted Holidays(G) :
Occassions which are declared mandatory Holidays by the central Government offices. From a big list of Gazetted Holidays, 14 are compulsory (including National Holidays) and from the remaining 3 more are chosen.

The 14 Compulsory Holidays in this list are :
(Republic Day, Independence Day, Gandhi Jayanti- NATIONAL HOLIDAYS
Budha Purnima, Dussehra (Vijay Dashmi), Diwali, Christmas Day, Good Friday, Guru Nanak Jayanti, Id-ul-Fitr, Id-ul-Zuha, Mahavir Jayanti, Muharram, Id-e-Milad (Prophet Mohammad B’Day)
 However, not all these may be Holidays in Private sector or other office’s.

 Restricted Holidays(R) :
This Consists of Holidays which are optional. Those left over from the list of Gazetted Holidays, are also to be included in Restricted Holidays. In addition at the state level, depending on the regional importance of certain days, some more holidays may be added to the list.
Each central govt employee can get 2 holidays from this list.

Happy Holidays Greeting Card - Happy Holiday Greeting Card- Greetings Card -Free Greeting Cards
Happy Holidays Greeting Card


    DATE/ DAY                               CAT.                     OCCASION/FESTIVITY

 01st   January / Tuesday                    R                       New Year’s Day
13th   January / Sunday                     R                       Makar Sankranti
14th   January / Monday                   R                       Pongal
18th   January / Friday                       R                      Guru Gobind Singh’s B’day
25th   January / Friday                       G                      Id-E-Milad /Milad-Un-Nabi 
26th   January / Saturday                 G                       Republic Day

 14th February /  Thursday                 R                       Shree Panchami
15th February / Friday                       R                       Basanta Panchami
19th February / Tuesday                    R                       Shivaji Jayanti
25th February / Monday                    R                       Guru Ravidas Jayanti

 07th March / Thursday                     R                        Swami D. Saraswati jayanti
10th March / Sunday                        R                         Maha Shivratri
26th March / Tuesday                       R                         Holika Dahan
27th March / Wednesday                 G                         Holi
29th March / Friday                          G                        Good Friday
31st March / Sunday                         R                        Easter

 11th April/ Thursday                      R                          Chaitra Sukladi/ Ugadi
                                                                                     Gudi Padva/ Cheti Chand
13th April/ Saturday                       R                          Vaisakhi/ Vishu
14th April/ Sunday                         G                           Dr.B.R.Ambedkar B’day
15th April/ Monday                        R                           Bahag Bihu/ Vaisakhadi
19th April/ Friday                           G                           Ram Navami
24th April/ Wednesday                  G                           Mahavir Jayanti

 09th May / Thursday                    R                            Guru Rabindranath’s B’day
 24th May/ Friday                          R                             Hazarat Ali’s B’day
 25th May/ Saturday                      G                            Buddha Purnima   

 10th July/  Wednesday                  R                                    Rath Yatra

02nd August/ Friday                      R                                Jamat-Ul-Vida
09th August/ Friday                      G                                Id-ul-Fitr
15th August/ Thursday                   G                                Independence Day
18th August/ Sunday                       R                                Parsi New Year
20th August / Tuesday                    R                                 Raksha Bandhan
28th August/ Wednesday               G                                 Janamashtmi

 09th September/ Monday               R                              Ganesh Chaturthi
16th September/ Monday               R                              Onam

 02nd October/ Wednesday              G                          Mahatama Gandhi jayanti
11th October/ Friday                        R                          Maha Saptmi
12th October/ Saturday                    R                          Maha Ashtami
13th October/ Sunday                      G                          Dussehra / Vijay Dashmi
16th October/ Wednesday               G                          Id-ul-Zuha /Bakr-id
18th October/ Friday                        R                          Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
22nd October/ Tuesday                    R                           Karaka Chaturthi/
                                                                                         Karva Chouth

 02nd November/ Saturday                 R                       Deepavali (South India) /
                                                                                       Naraka Chaturdasi
03rd November/ Sunday                   G                        Diwali/ Deepavali
03rd November/ Sunday                   R                        Govardhan Puja
05th November/ Tuesday                  R                        Bhai Duj
08th November/ Friday                     R                        Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)/
                                                                                       Pratihar Sashthi
14th November/ Thursday                  G                       Muharram
17th November/ Sunday                     G                      Guru Nanak Jayanti
24th November/ Sunday                      R                     Guru Teg Bahadur     
                                                                                       Martyrdom Day
  24th December/ Tuesday                  R                         Christmas Eve
  25th December/ Wednesday            G                         Christmas Day

Image Credits : Inder RS

*Disclaimer : The explanation of Holidays, is from our own general understanding and may not  meet any official standards.
Should you spot any typo errors, Kindly inform us.
The Details Shall be updated in the beginning of every calendar Year.

No comments: